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In 2006, the Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner (OHIC) issued a regulation to clarify 
Rhode Island’s prompt processing statutes.1 The prompt processing statutes cover all health 
insurers, health plans, dental plans, nonprofit hospital and medical service corporations, 
nonprofit dental service corporations, health maintenance organizations, licensed third party 
administrators and contractors operating in Rhode Island. The regulation requires, among other 
things, that all such entities submit monthly reports if they process, on average, 10,000 or more 
claims per month or an annual report if they process, on average, fewer than 10,000 claims per 
month.  
 
Certain entities subject to the prompt processing statutes process only a few hundred claims a 
year. Requiring an annual report from such entities may constitute an unreasonable 
administrative burden. For such entities, OHIC will waive the annual reporting requirement, 
commencing immediately, if: 
 

(1) The entity processed fewer than 1000 claims subject to Rhode Island’s prompt 
processing statutes in the previous calendar year; and 

 
(2) The entity notifies OHIC in writing that the entity intends to invoke the 

reporting exception described in this bulletin.  
 

 
1 OHIC Regulation 7: Prompt Processing of Claims, available at 
http://www.ohic.ri.gov/documents/Providers/Monitoring Insurers/Regulation 7 Prompt Processing of 
Claims/Regulation 7 Prompt Processing of Claims.pdf. 

http://www.ohic.ri.gov/documents/Providers/Monitoring%20Insurers/Regulation%207%20Prompt%20Processing%20of%20Claims/Regulation%207%20Prompt%20Processing%20of%20Claims.pdf
http://www.ohic.ri.gov/documents/Providers/Monitoring%20Insurers/Regulation%207%20Prompt%20Processing%20of%20Claims/Regulation%207%20Prompt%20Processing%20of%20Claims.pdf
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An entity that invokes the reporting exception remains subject to all other requirements set out in 
the prompt processing statutes and OHIC Regulation 7. An entity that wishes to invoke the 
reporting exemption should provide written notice to OHIC at the following address: 

 
Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner 

Attn.: Executive Assistant for Program and Policy Review 
1511 Pontiac Ave Bldg 69-1 

     Cranston, RI 02920 
An entity must only file this notice once. If, however, an entity chooses to invoke the reporting 
exception, but in a subsequent year processes more than 1000 claims, it must resume filing an 
annual report. 
 
 
 

Christopher F. Koller 
Health Insurance Commissioner 
December 4, 2008 


