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Section 1 Statement of Authority and Purpose 

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Rhode Island Health 

Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) by R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 27-74-16, 42-14-5 and 42-14-

17. 

This regulation is intended to implement the provisions of Title 27, Chapter 74, the “Discount 

Medical Plan Organization Act” (the “Act”).  The purpose of the Act and this regulation is to 

promote the public interest by establishing standards for discount medical plan organizations; to 

protect consumers from unfair or deceptive marketing, sales or enrollment practices of discount 

medical plans; and to facilitate consumer understanding of the role and function of discount 

medical plans in providing access to medical or ancillary services. 

Section 2 Definitions 

All words or phrases used in this regulation already defined in R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-3 shall 

have the meaning therein. 

Section 3 Registration Requirements 

(A) Before doing business in or from this state, a discount medical plan organization shall 

complete an application for a certificate of registration.  The application to operate as a 

discount medical plan is appended to this regulation as Appendix A.  All sections of the 

application must be completed in order for the application to be accepted by the 

Commissioner.  The application must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of two 

hundred and fifty dollars ($250) made payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode 

Island. 
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(B) Once the application has been filed, the Commissioner shall review the application and 

notify the applicant of any deficiency therein.  The ninety (90) day review period shall 

not commence until the Commissioner has received a completed application. 

(C) The Commissioner shall renew the certificate of registration of each holder that meets the 

requirements of the Act and this regulation upon receipt of a completed application and 

payment of a non-refundable fee of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) made payable to 

the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island.  Each registration is issued on a biennial 

basis.  A discount medical plan which registers during the registration term shall be 

issued a registration for the time period remaining and will have to renew at the 

expiration of the registration, regardless of the period of time it has been registered.  The 

Commissioner does not prorate license fees.  This renewal requirement is separate from 

the obligation to file an annual report under R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-13; however, at the 

option of the registrant the annual report shall be filed either at the time of the renewal 

application is filed in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-5(f) during the calendar 

year in which the application must be renewed, or on or before September 30 during any 

calendar year. 

Section 4  Reporting of Actions 

(A) The registrant shall report to the Commissioner any administrative action taken against 

the registrant in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency in this state 

immediately in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-5(l).     

 

(B) Within thirty (30) days of the initial pretrial hearing date, the registrant shall report to the 

Commissioner any criminal prosecution of any of the principals or employees of the 

registrant taken in any jurisdiction if the prosecution is of a felony of any sort, and if the 

prosecution is of a misdemeanor alleging facts relating to the business of discount 

medical plans, or the business of insurance, or of any financial services business. The 

report shall include a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting from the 

hearing, and any other relevant legal documents.     

 

(C) The registrant shall report the Commissioner any change to the information contained in 

the original application within thirty (30) days of the change.  With regard to the 

registrant’s name, address or website address, notice must be given thirty (30) days 

before the change is made in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-12. 

 

(D) Reports required to be filed pursuant to this section may be filed with the Office 

electronically.  Reports shall include the name and address of the registrant, the name of 

the officer or employee authorized to file the report, and the phone number and email 

address where such officer or employee can be contacted. 

 

Section 5 Denial, Suspension, Revocation or Non-Renewal 

(A) The Commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew a 

plan’s registration or may levy a civil penalty in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-74-

14 and 42-14-16. Whenever the Commissioner denies an application to operate as a 
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discount medical plan or suspends, revokes or fails to renew the certificate of registration 

of a discount medical plan, the Commissioner will set forth the ground(s) for disapproval. 

(B) In the event that the action by the Commissioner is to deny an application for or not 

renew a registration, the Commissioner shall notify the Applicant or registrant, in writing, 

of the reason for the non-renewal or denial of the registration. The Applicant or registrant 

may make written demand upon the Commissioner within thirty (30) days for a hearing 

before the Commissioner to determine the reasonableness of the Commissioner’s action. 

The hearing shall be held pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 42-35-9 through 14. 

(C) The registration of a business entity may be suspended, revoked or refused if 

the Commissioner finds, after hearing, that the violation was known or should 

have been known by one or more of the partners, officers or managers acting 

on behalf of the business entity and the violation was neither reported to the 

Commissioner nor corrective action taken.  Corrective action will not prohibit 

action by the Commissioner but will be taken into consideration. 

(D) In addition to or in lieu of any applicable denial, suspension or revocation of a 

registration, a person may, after hearing, be subject to a fine and/or any other 

appropriate remedies according to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 27-74-14 and 42-14-16. 

(E) The Commissioner shall retain the authority to enforce the provisions of and 

impose any penalty or remedy authorized by R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 27-74-14 

and/or 42-14-16 against any registrant who is under investigation for or 

charged with a violation even if the registration has been surrendered or has 

lapsed by operation of law. 

Section 7 Readability of Forms and Advertising 

All discount medical plan forms, marketing materials, brochures, discount medical plan cards 

and any other communications by discount medical plan organizations to members and 

prospective members shall comply with the standards for readability set forth in the Office of the 

Health Insurance Commissioner Regulation 5. 

Section 9 Severability 

If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof to any person or circumstances are 

for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the application of its 

provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby. 

Section 10 Effective Date 

This regulation shall be effective as indicated below. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: June 1, 2011. 

 

 

 


